Dr. Laura: Rat Scientist

August 16, 2010

I really wish she would stop masquerading as someone who knows anything about mental health.

Please do not look at this woman as any sort of representative of mental health, personally or professionally.  She will surely scare you away.  I knew that she was not a trained mental health practitioner, although I could not remember her training, so I looked it up and this is what I found on Wikipedia.

Schlessinger received a bachelor’s degree from Stony Brook University and a Ph.D. in physiology from Columbia University in 1974. Her doctoral thesis was on the “Effects of Insulin on 3-0-Methylglucose Transport in Isolated Rat Adipocytes”.[8][9] She lectured at the University of California, Los Angeles (UCLA), the University of California, Irvine, and Pepperdine University.

Nothing there at all about training to be a mental health practitioner.  Nothing.  What really concerns me is that she has practiced “Marriage and Family Counseling” and has no training in this work that I could find anywhere.   She has built a career on being a sort of morality policewoman, but to me her practice is akin to psychopaths who perform surgeries with no training.  Completely unethical.  Do I sound mad?  Good.

Do not call this person for advice.

As I have said many times before, shrinks are not perfect and I am sure some are even racist.  But if you are going to have any chance of getting help with your problem, at least start with someone who has some training in providing  that help.

3 Responses to “Dr. Laura: Rat Scientist”

  1. E said

    Wow! Who knew. I’ve yet to hear or read anyone report on her lack of credentials whenever she has one of her headline making “incidents”.

  2. yoy50 said

    Wow indeed! I only know about her through this recent revealing of her soul, but I thought she was actually trained in her field. Wow, wow, WOW! I love the title of this article by the way… “rat scientist”– GOOD ONE!

  3. Did I hear she quit? I hope that is true. That is long overdue.

Leave a Reply

